You know you’re ESL when…

I love my job.  Seriously, most days it doesn’t even feel like work.  My students have also commented that sometimes they forget I’m getting paid, because we just have so much fun together.

Sometimes, when we get in a silly mood, they share some of their funniest stories with me.  I imagine that some days must feel to them like a situational comedy: everything is one big misunderstanding.  But these misunderstandings stem from cultural and linguistic differences, rather than he said/she said, like on Friends.

So, without further ado, I’d like to introduce you to a little joke line I like to call “You know you’re ESL when.”

  1. You know you’re ESL when you think a Blackberry is a kind of fruit.
  2. You know you’re ESL when you think cross-country skiing involves a trip to the United States.
  3. You know you’re ESL when someone tells you they like yogurt and you picture them meditating.
  4. You know you’re ESL when inviting someone to go to the beach causes offense.
  5. You know you’re ESL when, at your convenience store job, a customer asks for More cigarettes and you start piling boxes in front of them.
  6. You know you’re ESL when someone tells you you have a nice smile and you wonder if you even wore perfume that day.
  7. You know you’re ESL when someone tells you to open Windows and you walk towards the wall.
  8. You know you’re ESL when you think Lady Gaga is the president of some country.

All inspired by true stories!  Enjoy, share, and feel free to add your own in the comments section.

2 Comments

Filed under funny, student stories

2 responses to “You know you’re ESL when…

  1. Haha, as an ESL teacher I know what you mean. I had a job once that I liked so much that it didn’t seem like I should get paid; I felt like I was going to hang out with friends.

  2. I taught my students about going to the beach and they giggled. I said: what’s so funny?? They replied: Like the David Guetta song? Sexy Beach?

Leave a Reply

